LPGA Hall of Fame where only 22 members were allowed in during its 54 years of history

In 1967, the LPGA has acquired the female golf section of the Hall of Fame established in Georgia, 1960. Well known for its strict admission prerequisites, the number of accepted members are only 22, total. In 1951, four members, including Babe Zaharias who was the first female to participate in the PGA tour and pass the cut, were first admitted. Most recently, Annika Sorenstam, who became the first female to challenge the battle of sex in 58 years, was admitted in 2003. Also, Karrie Webb, who was considered as a member of the ‘big three’ with Seri Park, and Sorenstam, is to be admitted next year. Among the members of Hall of Fame, there are ‘active players’ who have passed the prerequisites while touring and ‘veteran members’ who are retired players selected by LPGA committee members. Among the 22 players, Judy Rankin(2000, 26wins), Donna Caponi(2001, 24 wins), and Marlene Hagge(2003, 26 wins) are veteran members. Also, Dinah Shore was admitted as an honorary member. As a result, active members who met the prerequisites to be admitted while touring was only 18. That is how difficult it is to enter the Hall of Fame. The entry became easier on February 1999 with the modification of the prerequisites. Prior to the modification, members were required to have more than 10 years of touring and have 30 wins including 2 majors, or have 40 wins without any major wins. The modification has changed the prerequisite to earning 27 points in minimum of 10 years of touring. The points system for admission consists of △ 1 points per win in ordinary tournaments, △ 2 points per win in the majors, △ 1 points per ‘Vare Trophy’, a trophy given to the lowest scoring player of the season, and △ 1 points per ‘player of the year’. Also, a member must win at least one major or win the ‘player of the year’ and the ‘Vare Trophy’ at least once